Re-Birth of the Sun AJE Winter Challenge Reveal

When the Winter Solstice arrives, we welcome the longer days to come and feel a sense of hope. Spring is around the corner. We made it through the cold, dark days of winter and will soon be able to grow crops, animals will give birth to their young, and the Earth will be green and vibrant again. I began thinking about the symbolism and archetypes involved in this cycle. Classic symbolism can be found in Tarot cards, which have been around since the Middle Ages, so I started thinking about the Sun and Moon in this pendant by Lesley Watt (http://thegossipinggoddess.blogspot.com) and how people interpret them.

img_3735-1

Of course, if you think of those celestial bodies, you also think of Stars. Here are some thoughts I had about the traditional interpretations of what these symbols mean and the journey from the seventeenth card, to the eighteenth card, to the nineteenth card.

img_3773img_3772

You can ruminate on that for a bit, or just say, “Girl, why so serious?! It’s a necklace.”

Obviously, when you’re designing jewelry, you are going to be thinking about color, so I started to grab a few things:

img_3734

This is when I noticed that the beads that matched the closest in person (believe it or not, the Alexandrite crackled and faceted beads on the bottom right) where NOT the beads that matched in the photograph. I had a little panic.

img_3738

Sometimes, things said in sarcasm or jest…are a brilliant idea!!!!

img_3762img_3750

The clasp is by Lorelei Eurto (http://loreleieurtojewelry.indiemade.com); not only did the color work well, but I love bugs! The beetle is a great addition with its meanings of wisdom, protection, persistence, and adaption for survival. The beetle has a long association with the Sun.

image

Journeys are usually circular, so on the way back around from the Sun to the Star on my necklace, I added a ladybug that sits on the back of my neck. In the Middle Ages, the ladybug was known as the Beetle of Our Lady. Ladybugs, or ladybirds if you prefer, are supposed to be lucky: they symbolize: abudance; happiness; wish-fulfillment; and death/rebirth. Their life cycle is only four weeks, so they are supposed to teach us to be fearless, living life to its fullest, and that everything has its time under the Sun. The lampwork in the necklace is by Lea Avroch (https://www.facebook.com/LeaAvrochArtGlass/), the lampwork in the earrings was made by Mallory Hoffman (https://www.etsy.com/shop/rosebud101).

I also had a just in case piece, mail being what it is. This lampwork cabochon is by Sue Kennedy (http://www.suebeads.blogspot.com). I am learning to work in metal…so this is still a work in process. I melted the bezel, then broke a prong, and tube riveted it a little tight, so I don’t have the movement I want. I will welcome the Sun and work harder this year on my journey to learn metalsmith techniques. New Beginnings!

img_3732

Thank you so much for looking. I hope you visit all the other artists on their journeys with the Sun:

Guest Designers:
Melissa Trudinger
Lennis Carrier — You Are Here
Linds Newnham
Tammy Adams
Sherri Hartman-Stokey

Kathy Lindemer

AJE Team:
Lindsay Starr
Jennifer Cameron
Sue Kennedy
Niky Sayers
Jenny Davies-Reazor
Lesley Watt
Caroline Dewison

Lesley Our Hostess:

Lesley Watt – THEA jewellery
http://www.THEAjewellery.etsy.com
http://www.thegossipinggoddess.blogspot.com
https://www.facebook.com/theajewellery

Art Jewelry Elements Blog

 

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops, ruminations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Re-Birth of the Sun AJE Winter Challenge Reveal

  1. I love your interpretation of this challenge. The necklace with the purple and yellow is inspired. x

  2. Lesley Watt says:

    What a wonderful design Lennis – full of light and joy and great movement. Love the link with the bee to…works perfectly with my pendant! Thanks for taking part in the challenge.

  3. Beautiful design Lennis, I love that you’ve used all the colours, they’re perfect together!

  4. Tammy Adams says:

    Your design is a wonderful way to welcome spring. And you can’t go wrong with beaded dangles. The more the better. Beautifully done.

  5. Yes! Love your post, and love how you used all the colors!

  6. I love this piece! I adore the symbolism and how you balanced it with Lorelei’s clasp on one side and the beads on the other. Thanks for participating in the challenge and for reading AJE!

  7. Lennis Evans says:

    I’m impressed with everything. The necklace turned out really well. Love it.Well written presentation.Love, Mom SHARING………….

  8. Kathy Lindemer says:

    Very cool necklace. I love that you showed your thought process. I have to say I was amazed at how great all of the colors worked together.

  9. mtrudinger says:

    ooh, great necklace! I bet it has a lot of movement with that lovely dangle! And I love the little bug at the back!

  10. Beth says:

    Wow – I love how you did incorporate all the beads into the design – AWESOME!

  11. Love the dangles – great idea. And the little ladybug at the back is sweet!

  12. niky sayers says:

    What a beautiful design Lennis, I love the little dangles and colours!

  13. Jenny says:

    Lennis! You are speaking MY language! The circles, beetles, Tarot! Oh – AND the necklace looks great!

Leave a comment