UK Inspiration Challenge Reveal: Ticket to Ride

Thank you to Artisan Whimsy and the UK Blog Team for hosting this event. The Challenge was simple: create a piece of jewelry or a jewelry component inspired by Dorset, Edinburgh, Bath, the Isle of Wight, Liverpool, or Southampton. I’ve only been to two of these cities and while Edinburgh is beautiful, Liverpool and the Wirral Peninsula are places dear to my heart.

The Liver Building: taken from across the Mersey in Wallasey by me in 2008.

Stand in St. John’s Gardens in Liverpool, near Lime Street Station, and take a good look around. If you turn through 360 degrees, then you’ll see: the entrance to the Queensway Tunnel, which routes traffic under the River Mersey from Liverpool to Birkenhead (and back again); the Victorian architecture of St. George’s Hall; the Liver Birds atop their perches; the remnants of the “Dockers’ Umbrella” over-ground railway; the cranes of Cammell Laird’s shipyard; and most important of all: the Dr. Duncan’s Pub (my husband made me say that, I prefer The Magazine) where you can lean against the bar on any given evening, read the Liverpool Echo, sup your pint of Cain’s F.A. bitter, and catch an earful of what’s going on in the North of England’s most vibrant city.

The famous Albert Dock: taken by me in 2002.

As it happens, the Titanic was built in Belfast – but study a close-up of her rear and you’ll see “LIVERPOOL” in brass letters 2’ tall. Because, you see: Liverpool is a port, the most important port in the United Kingdom.  Liverpool was the gateway to the New World. Liverpool is a shipbuilding town. Liverpool is a city that produced great wealth – and crushing poverty. Above all, Liverpool is a city that makes things…Liverpool is an industrial city.

Do I really have to say anything about  the Beatles? Seriously.

So I give you my necklace I called Ticket to Ride. I used lava because I was thinking about coal. I wanted some Victorian influences which you’ll see in the centerpiece and the bead caps. The velour I added for texture. Trains are so central to England and were so important  for moving goods to other parts of the country, I really wanted them to be my focus. I used the incredible picture of Central Station by E.Chambré Hardman. While this photo is over 70 years old, the National Trust has retained copyright. I believe I have met the legal requirements of using less than 10% of this picture and no copyright infringement was meant. Besides, I’m not selling this anyway…they’ll have to take it off my cold, dead corpse if they can find me.

Mine. All mine.

Please visit the lovely gals that hosted this event and all the participants to get a little mini tour of the UK and see some fabulous creativity it inspires.

The Hosts
Lesley Watt Gossiping Goddess

Rebecca Anderson Songbeads

Pippa Chandler Pip’s Jewellery

Teresa Hulley Bo Hulley Beads

Natalie McKenna Grubbi

Jo Tinley Daisychain Designs

Dorset

Gale White Bantering Bird on Flickr

Ginger Bishop Lilmummylikes

Cece Cormier The Beading Yogini

Therese Frank Therese’s Treasures

Cilla Watkins Tell Your Girlfriends

Kay Toodles and Binks

Edinburgh

Therese Frank Therese’s Treasures

Kashmira Patel Sadafulee

Caroline Dewison Blueberribeads

Pam Sears Crazy Creative Corner

Leigh Thow Jewellrleigh

Bath

Cynthia Machata  http://antiquitytravelers.blogspot.com

Pam Sears Crazy Creative Corner

Isle of Wight

Duane Clark Bizzy Bead

Sharyl McMillian-Nelson Sharyl’s Jewelry

Leigh Thow Jewellrleigh

Jean Wright Just Beadey

D Lynne Bowland Islandgirl’s Insights

Lisa Lodge Pine Ridge Treasures

Liverpool

Jean A. Wells  http://www.jeanawells.blogspot.com

Shalini Austin   Jewellery by Shalini

Doris Stumpf Glaszwerg

Lennis C Windbent –you are here!

Southampton

Sherri Stokey Knot Just Macramé

Leigh Thow Jewellrleigh

Kathy Lindemer Bay Moon Design

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops, Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to UK Inspiration Challenge Reveal: Ticket to Ride

  1. I simply LOVE it! Love the name, love the design. I do not blame you. I would not part with it either.

  2. Thank you for sharing more about Liverpool then just the Beatles, it sounds like a wonderful city. I love your necklace it is so beautiful! I do not blame you for wanting it all to yourself.
    Therese

  3. cal77 says:

    I love your design, it really tells a story!

  4. That necklace is gorgeous. I remember that song very well and I think it was fabulous that you put the travel and ticket, etc. together to represent Liverpool in such a beautiful way. I’m with everyone else, I would keep it too. It is gorgeous. You should be very proud of it.

  5. Jo Tinley says:

    What a beautiful necklace – and based on one of my favourite Beatles songs too! Thank you for sharing so much about Liverpool – it’s one of the few UK cities that I haven’t visited – yet! Thank you too for taking part in our challenge!

  6. Lesley Watt says:

    Love this piece – beautifully composed and I now know so much more about Liverpool! Thanks for taking part.

  7. antiquitytravelers says:

    Really like the look of this piece. The ticket is such a great touch! and I like the antique look of the piece overall – really beautiful

  8. windbent says:

    Thank you so much to everyone for visiting and being so supportive.

  9. I’ve actually been to 3 of the places in the list, but chose one I hadn’t been too! I’m wearing one of my necklaces today too! Love your piece and it’s very clever title!

  10. Shalini says:

    Oh this necklace is just beautiful! Not surprised its all yours! 🙂
    Beautifully written post too.

  11. Beautiful piece, Lennis!

  12. Kashmira says:

    I would so totally wear that!

  13. Grubbi says:

    Hey, thank you so much for entering, love your necklace and the history of my home town shining through! You have been picked at random as my challenge winner! Yay! Congrats! If you email me or contact me through Artisan Whimsy (Natalie McKenna) we can arrange your prize! Thank you so much for taking part! 🙂

Leave a Reply

