Spring Into Bead Soup Blog Party 7, Reveal 2

The time for Lori Anderson’s Bead Soup Blog Party 7, second reveal is finally here. If you missed the first reveal, the list is here. Hopefully, you saw my previous post about my partner, the lovely Klaudete Koon, and what she sent me but here is a little reminder:

BSBP7 Ingredients

This hop has many participants so I did not write a play this time (I know you were wondering…) because we all have a lot of hopping to do. So…

From the Soup: one of the clasps I was sent and the tiny, green Czech glass beads.

From the Soup: one of the clasps I was sent and the tiny, green Czech glass beads.

This includes the first clasp I have ever made, so be kind to me!

From the Soup: all the beads in this, including the lamp-work, glass pearls, shell/resin beads and black crystals and the wire for the clasp I made.

This is where I had a little emergency…I broke one of the cord ends that Klaudete sent me to finish the Viking Knit and I already had the glue on the ends…setting. Eek! So I grabbed the only silver-tone end caps that would fit and did my best. I don’t usually work in silver a whole lot since I love brass, so I was lucky to have anything on hand.

From the Soup: viking knit, handmade by Klaudete Koon.

From the Soup: Viking Knit, handmade by Klaudete Koon.

All the pictures previous to this next one, are the extra pieces I made when I found out we had a little more time for our reveal. I spent most of my time beforehand painting this…

From my Soup: the beaded pendant handmade by Klaudete Koon, and the box clasp with the beads I set in Ice Resin.

From my Soup: the beaded pendant handmade by Klaudete Koon, and the box clasp with the beads I set in Ice Resin.

I do love the vintage copper stackable petals and copper plated flowers. I used Victorian glass buttons for the two side flowers and added the vintage crystals. I tried to match the colors of the beads Klaudete gave me with a blend of Vintaj patina paint, Adirondack Alcohol Inks and Lumiere paint.

Here’s the set together:

Complimentary rather than too matchy-matchy is right up my alley.

Complementary rather than too matchy-matchy is right up my alley.

Please go visit my partner to see what she created with the Soup I sent her. The rest of the Blog Hop participants are here:

http://lorianderson-beadsoupblogparty.blogspot.com/2013/04/7th-bead-soup-blog-party-2nd-reveal.html

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Spring Into Bead Soup Blog Party 7, Reveal 2

  1. Your set is lovely – you did a wonderful job with your soup!

  2. mtrudinger says:

    Gorgeous Lennis, loving the necklace and the mismatched earrings too!

  3. Silvia says:

    Amazing set, I especially like the necklace!

  4. Beautiful and blingy… great designs, Lennis!

  5. Jen says:

    Awesome set! You did a great job matching the paint to the beads. Love the earrings!

  6. coffeeaddict says:

    that’s your first handmade clasp?! Well, it looks just perfect! The first one I ever made would barely pass for a pile of scrap metal.
    I’m loving the cheeky mismatched earrings and the simple yet striking Viking knit bracelet. Great work!

  7. brandi says:

    ~i love the deep rich colors you had to work with and your pieces are wonderful with a vintage feel…much love light and blessings~

  8. wonderful…I love the collage necklace! Kristin Oppold

  9. Margareta says:

    One more stunning necklace!!

  10. Klaudete Koon says:

    Gorgeous! I wish I could comment on each picture, lol. Facebook has spoiled me. I love how you used the floral clasp, I never would’ve thought to use them like that! I love the bracelets too, are those polymer beads on the viking knit? I was worried you wouldn’t be able to find beads to fit, lol. Your handmade hook looks perfect to me. But that necklace is STUNNING! I love how you translated it into a floral design, it’s what I was going for, but it just kept pulling to a rounded shape. Just absolutely beautiful!

    • windbent says:

      Thanks! I was worried you wouldn’t like what I did with your focal. Thank you for leaving me room in that center bead so I could wire it. I have no large hole beads so my friend Rita sent me some Pandora style beads but the green was the wrong color. Then, I remembered my friend Nicole sent me a mixed bag of ceramic large hole beads. I like the black, mauve and green together. Maybe that’s not my most inspired piece because I’ve never used anything like that before but it shows off your knit, right?

  11. bailaora says:

    floral necklace is amazing!congrats!

  12. Wow, you rocked that soup utterly !

  13. That necklace is gorgeous. When I look at it from a distance, I see an owl. I agree with you too, I like complementary rather than matchy matchy. Beautiful work. Great job!

  14. You’ve created a yummy set. I love how it blends together yet each piece keeps it’s own personality.
    kathy

    • windbent says:

      Thank you Kathy. I know the bracelets by themselves are not so impressive. That’s why I added that last picture: so people could see that with earrings and a necklace already that ornate, you don’t really need an over the top bracelet as well. Like when you pick china, silverware and crystal to set the table…the rule is two patterns, one plain.

  15. Wow – love the paint job – how creative!!

  16. Andrea Trank says:

    Your pieces are so in right now. You nailed it. Thanks for visitng my blog as well.

  17. says:

    I love the necklace!
    I’m on the 3rd reveal, I’m partecipating for the 3rd time on BSBP, I love this funny party!
    ciao dall’Italia

  18. CraftyHope says:

    I think you did an awesome job getting the colors to match. I don’t think I could have ever gotten that close at all. Your pieces are all really fab. I especially am drawn to your necklace with the focal. It’s elegant and funky at the same time. So cool!!

  19. It was time well spent painting with all manner of things 🙂 I think that necklace would be just stunning on my favourite red-head friend. I see green and always think of her! Good for you for making your own clasp too!

  20. Susan F. says:

    Wonderful work! I, too, see the owl. 🙂

  21. Beautiful, the necklace is so beautiful and the mismatched earrings are gorgeous.

  22. Lennis you made wonderful use of your soup. I love what you did with the focal. You accented it perfectly.

  23. Shalini says:

    What a BEAUTIFUL set! Love it 🙂

  24. Beautiful set ! Love the focal on the necklace!

  25. Nice job! I really like what you did with the focal! It would have been a tough one for me…great choice of accents.

  26. Bobbie Rafferty says:

    What an interesting soup you received, and what pretty pieces you made with it! I’m especially impressed that you were able to use the viking knit section, particularly since you had to come up with a creative solution when the end came off. Nice job!

  27. Silke says:

    Great work! I love the simple viking knit bracelet.

  28. Karla Morgan says:

    Wow! Love what you did with the bead soup KK sent you. She was my partner last bead soup & I loved the bead soup she sent me! Each of your pieces are so unique. I must try the inks & paints you used.

Leave a Reply

