Why I bought earrings I could make and why you should too

One of my “beady” friends on Facebook posted a beautiful picture of a pair of earrings. I normally only buy either vintage jewelry or finished pieces that I can’t make myself, such as something made by a metalsmith. Anyone who knows me should know I love Day of the Dead artwork, Mexican tin art and skulls (along with bugs but that’s a different story.) So when I saw these earrings I fell in love. My first thought was, these are totally my style. My second thought was, I could totally make these. My third thought was, I have to buy them. Darn it!

Now I know what some of you are thinking…if I could just make them myself, why would I buy them? The answer is because that’s stealing! I didn’t design them. True, I’m not making them to sell; they would be for me to wear. Still stealing in my book. They are not made from a tutorial I purchased or was published for free. They were not in a bead book or magazine I had purchased. They were designed and created by someone else. It was her idea to put them together in that order and hang them that way. The moment she photographed them, they were copyright protected. If I want people to respect my designs, I must respect the designs of others. If I make my own skull earrings, either for personal use or for sale, they will be completely different. Heck, even if I happen to own every bead she used in these earrings, I would not put them together the same way–I think it’s wrong.

So as a very special treat for myself, I have purchased these lovely earrings from the awesome jewelry designer Heidi Post.

Copyright held by ex post facto jewelry 2012.

Please go visit her at:

http://expostfactojewelry.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/expostfactojewelry

http://www.etsy.com/shop/expostfacto

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in design ideas, jewelry making, ruminations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I bought earrings I could make and why you should too

  1. Heidi Post says:

    I’m so pleased that you love them! And I agree – I would never duplicate someone else’s design. That’s just wrong. Inspiration is one thing, copying is another. Enjoy them – and thank you so much for showing them off!

  2. Aah, that’s lovely: both Heidi’s earrings and the story… You’re absolutely right!

  3. Vicki says:

    Lennis, I followed your link from Bead Soup Cafe on FB. I love what you said about buying these earrings. You are so totally correct. Heidi’s earrings are beautiful and I’m not into skulls. I love the colours and the beadcaps look like hats. They are art.

  4. Cindy says:

    What a great post – I totally agree! I buy jewelry from other jewelry designers all the time because I simply love the piece and it is their design. The skull earrings are a real conversation-starter and I agree with Vicki – pieces of art!

  5. barbara carpenter says:

    great post Lennis. love the earrings and the sentiment !

Leave a comment