Caribbean Color Palette Challenge

Sherri Stokey of Knot Just Macrame threw this challenge out to us on the Love My Art Jewelry blog. The color palette is lovely and see that not so little sand dollar? I made that. 🙂


But, do you ever have a piece of jewelry that does not want to be what you want it to be? Well, this bracelet was reworked twice until I just wanted to admit defeat. What is wrong with it you ask? Looks great…except on a wrist, which kind of defeats the purpose.


I almost just turned it into a necklace, but I really didn’t want to and then I remembered my dream catcher; it was made by Lindsey Starr of Phantasm Creations. You might know her from Art Jewelry Elements. 

I kept meaning to decorate it, but it was something I wanted to add to over time with different pieces of trinkets that meant something to me. Then, making sure it meant something meaningful became something that paralyzed me into not adding anything at all. This has happen to me a few times before, especially if I am trying to make a meaningful piece of jewelry, like for a significant event, purpose, or person.

Sometimes, you just have to start somewhere. Sometimes, just the start can get you on the right track eventually. The color palette was meant to inspire us and it was inspiring, just not in the way I expected…


Now I have new ideas. I need to take that big loop off–it was supposed to be the toggle clasp. I want to make several of these now in different color pathways: blues, purples, greens and golds.

Take a look at what Sherri has been making with this color palette: http://www.knotjustmacrame.com/2016/08/caribbean-color-palette-challenge-update.html.

Then, check out the other creations on her blog today.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops, crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caribbean Color Palette Challenge

  1. Lennis Evans says:

    Checked out all posts…..impressed. Enjoyed all. Keep doing all that makes you HAPPY.
    Lennis Evans

  2. Mona Arnott says:

    Way to make it work for you. Adding it to the dreamcatcher is inspiring

Leave a comment