David Bowie Blog Hop Reveal

“I’m Pierrot. I’m Everyman. What I’m doing is theatre … the white face, the baggy pants – they’re Pierrot, the eternal clown putting over the great sadness …”

http://www.bowiegoldenyears.com/articles/760505-dailyexpress.html

Thank you to the Love My Art Jewelry group for hosting this blog hop honoring David Bowie and how he has inspired so many people in the world.

Every Bowie fan has their own personal favorite song, album, movie, painting, lyric, persona–it can be a great debate for any dinner party. My favorite album is Scary Monsters. I remember the first time I really heard it, not just the hits or singles, but the whole thing. Sandwiched between the Berlin trilogy and Let’s Dance!, Scary Monsters is that transition from the 70’s to the 80’s that I only really started listening to in the 90’s. The album is sprinkled with lyrics about madness, vanity, politics, drug use, his divorce and custody case, the media, maturity, and power dynamics. I’ll just let him tell you himself as he breaks down each song in this two part collated interview:

 

RCA released Scary Monsters in September 1980 with the promo line “Often Copied, Never Equalled.” Whoever wrote that was a genius.

 

 

A few years ago, Harry Wood of Oscarcrow made these awesome Raku cabochons of faces with dunce caps and I asked him to please recreate his design in blue for me because the costume from Ashes to Ashes is so iconic. I actually bought three because they are so darn cute and each one is different. There are a few in his etsy shop if you would like one.

 

image

At this point, Blackstar was going into rotation for me. One of my favorite blogs, Rune Soup, had given an interesting review of the album when it came out. I found this great photograph and realized Bowie understood the power of what he had created. (Of course, he did.)

image

 

I figured out what to do with my cabochon as I listened to Blackstar.

 

image

I asked Michelle McCarthy of Firefly Design Studio to make me a star shaped focal to match her beads that I already had. It is actually fabulous, but it was too small (entirely my fault) for the design I had in mind, so it went into the collection of her work that I am hoarding. That left me making a giant polymer clay star.

image

I also ordered some discs from Nikki Thornburg of Thornburg Bead Studio so I could make a clasp and some earrings. I started to pull together the colors and beads I wanted to use. Since space and stars were a reoccurring Bowie theme, I went for an Aurora Borealis color scheme.

 

This is definitely an arty, statement piece with him “strung out in Heaven’s high.” You may hate it or love it, but it is mine.

 

imageimage

Thank you so much for taking the time to look at what I made. Please visit the other participants of this blog hop to see how David Bowie influenced them.

http://lovemyartjewelry.blogspot.com

Special thanks to Staci Louise Smith of Staci Louise Originals for the inspiration.

Of course, you should watch the stellar Ashes to Ashes video. It’s actually difficult to find a clip of David Bowie singing anything live from Scary Monsters that is not 10-20 years after the fact. This Tonight Show clip is the only one I could find, right before the album dropped. Sound and video quality are not great, but it is a part of history:

 

If you missed Amanda Palmer’s tribute, you can find it here:

http://amandapalmer.bandcamp.com/album/strung-out-in-heaven-a-bowie-string-quartet-tribute

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to David Bowie Blog Hop Reveal

  1. mtrudinger says:

    I love it. Love. It. Going to share with my sister, who has been a Bowie fan since she was 12 or 13.

  2. A very thoughtful and artful tribute to the great David Bowie!

  3. Just perfect. Amazing.

  4. staci smith says:

    Beautiful tribute! What thought you put into your piece! I am enjoying so much seeing everyone’s inspiration and hearing how Bowie touched them

  5. Awesome necklace, Lennis! It’s a great tribute piece ❤

  6. Robin Kae Reed says:

    WOW!!! THAT IS FABULOUS!!! Even not being a Bowie fan I can appreciate the art and design!!! This is really Really REALLY an Art Statement piece deserving of a place of Honor in an exclusive Upscale Art Gallery!!!

  7. Fiona Robertson says:

    Wow that focal face bead is amazing and I love how you have connected it with the copper tendrils…a true piece of art x

    • windbent says:

      Thank you! I tried to leave a comment of your piece, but Google, WordPress, and Apple are during it out and I lost so I shared your post on Google plus. I love what you made–very otherworldly, like a space/time capsule, and funeral urn all at once. Striking.

  8. Kathy Lindemer says:

    Perfect piece to incorporate into the star. Wonderful necklace to honor Bowie with.

  9. This is most amazing – love the inspiration and your final piece – so very, very creative!

  10. gaiacopia says:

    Fantastic work, especially loving the layout and colors you chose. And goodness, that little dunce cap man is a great quirky touch!
    Emily

  11. MaryAnn Carroll says:

    What an incredibly creative design (and post)!!

  12. darlene fortier says:

    Thank you for your thoughtfulness with all the lovely links! xoxo

  13. Harry Wood says:

    Wonderful interpretation of the man. Love how you did the whole piece.

  14. L.D. Evans says:

    I continue to be in awe as your style, design detail, and passion for your art shines. Keep up the good work. Enjoyed the sites provided. Thank you.

  15. Pingback: Art Elements July Component 2017 Reveal | windbent

Leave a Reply

