Marsala Valentine Challenge Reveal

IMG_0764

Today is the reveal for the Marsala Valentine Challenge where I used beads purchased from Andrew Thornton of Allegory Gallery.

I borrowed Andrew’s photos to show you what was in the kit and the handmade components Andrew made:

IMG_1131

IMG_1132

I have to admit the Pantone color of the year underwhelmed me. I love burgundy, maroon, and wine. Two things helped me with this color: Andrew’s blend and this Seeds color palette:

IMG_0779

While I like the deeper reds, I find I don’t design with red often. My comfort zone is in the blue and green shade variations so this was a great way for me to become more familiar with this color pathway. I had loads of fun digging through my stash and playing.

IMG_0775

IMG_0776

Earrings were first so I could dip my toes into the water:

IMG_0864

IMG_0865

IMG_0869

IMG_0867

IMG_1118

Then, I decided to do a bracelet…which should have been a little, tiny bit bigger I think but it will still roll over my hand if I concentrate. LOL

IMG_0857

I finally graduated to necklaces. The lampwork in this first one was made by Valerie O’Neal of Seaside Fire Designs.

IMG_0861

IMG_0874

And…this is when disaster struck. I was not happy with my third necklace and wanted to redesign it, but I still had not completely arranged my workspace since our move and with things piled up everywhere, I dropped it on the floor. The rake face was made by Harry Wood of Oscarcrow. His little horns broke, which are a shocking white under the glaze. Harry is making me another one, but it is a different color, as is the nature of Raku, and it has not arrived yet. I used black marker on the porcelain and was not happy with that, so I covered it with some Guilder’s Paste that I think matches well. It looks a lot better. I will redesign this and post a photograph at a later date.

IMG_1130

Alison Herrington http://www.alisonadorns.blogspot.com/
Dolores Raml https://craftydscreations.wordpress.com
Carole Carlson http://www.beadsophisticate.wordpress.com
Lennis Carrier https://windbent.wordpress.com
Carolyn Lawson http://carolynscreationswa.blogspot.com/
Michelle McCarthy http://www.fireflydesignstudio.blogspot.com/
Ann Schroeder http://www.beadlove.wordpress.com
Kari Asbury http://hippiechickjewelrydesign.com/blog/
Shaiha Williams http://www.shaihasramblings.com/

On Andrew Thornton’s Blog:
Andrew Thornton, Nancy Noyes-Ward, Donna Hoblit, Cheryl Lee Tucker, and Laurel Ross. http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/

Thank you for joining us. This is a very small Blog Hop so please take a few minutes to enjoy what the other artists made.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Marsala Valentine Challenge Reveal

  1. Kari Asbury says:

    Love your designs! so much wonderful eye candy to see. So awful about your last piece and the special pendant but I do think the gilders paste did the trick for repair and I do hope you will complete the design. I bet you have something wonderful planned for that awesome pendant!

  2. laurel says:

    Did you make the patterns on the heart shaped earrings with your sizzlit? They are so cute! Love your work! Welcome to our challenge group.

  3. craftyd says:

    Wow, you do have awesome eye candy. Good thing I don’t have to pick a favorite as these are all wonderful. Your bracelet is really creative. Can’t wait to see how you finish that pendant, so sorry it broke as it has great coloring, I think I would try to camouflage those horns somehow.

    • windbent says:

      Everyone keeps saying they would not have noticed…but of course you can! I think you’re right. I am seriously thinking about using colored resin on those horns.

  4. beadlove says:

    I love your designs! That bracelet with the ribbon is gorgeous. All those earrings – I love it all! I’m so sorry about your broken piece. I’ll love to see what you end up making with the replacement. It’s a cool focal!

  5. Shaiha says:

    i am so in love with that first necklace! I fondled that jade bead but just wasn’t satisfied with anything I came up with. Your design is just perfect. So well balanced.

  6. So many awesome pieces! Wow! For someone who doesn’t work with red very much, you certainly got your groove on! I particularly like what you did with the Mystery Components! The asymmetry works beautifully! And the addition of the matte gold/antique brass was a good choice! All of the pieces have such a royal feeling. Nice! And I don’t think the little broken horn is bad. It gives him character. Like he’s been around the block and gotten into a few fights. Thanks so much for participating! (And introducing me to a new (to me) raku artist!)

  7. Kelli N says:

    That bracelet is my FAVORITE!! Along with the last necklace and you know I adore your earrings always! This color palette would have challenged me right into a PANIC. You made it look easy by the number of great pieces you came up with! Maybe Marsala isn’t such a bad color, will you design with it again?

  8. beadsophisticate says:

    The silk bracelet is to die for. Looks so luxurious and soft.

  9. Gina Hockett says:

    I have always been in love with this color, and I love what you did with everything. My favorites are the earrings, but I would wear everything. Love Harry’s work, am anxious to see what you do with it!!

  10. ToltecJewels says:

    Wow! You made gorgeous jewelry after gorgeous jewelry! Clever, flowing, powerful. I’m in love with every single piece. Love the color — calling me so intensely, especially after seeing your art radiantly displayed in such yummy crimsons, berries, bloods, burgundy, wines! Pantone’s color of the year is an energy giver in your post! Wow!

Leave a Reply

