The Loss of Jewelry and History

Some of you already know that our house got robbed last week.  It was sad for my family because we lost several generations of jewelry pieces–some solid gold and sterling, some vintage costume jewelry. I have to admit that the jewelry I have pictures of is telling.  Did I take pictures of the “valuable” pieces? Um, no.  I took pictures of some of the vintage costume jewelry though.  Certain pieces may not have been my favorite aesthetically, but may have had sentimental memories for me: like the ring my father gave me for my 16th birthday.  In reality there is little chance I will get the solid gold and sterling pieces back–they have likely already been sold for cash and smelted.  My only hope is that some of the pictures I took can help if the thieves get arrested for something else, and they are maybe wearing one of my pieces, or their girlfriend is, or it’s in their car or house…sigh.

On of my favorite vintage pieces that got stolen. If I had to guess I’d say from the 1970’s. As you know, I love brass and I got complimented every time I wore this.

This was a piece inherited from my husband’s grandmother. It was not hallmarked and was adjustable under the flower. She left Wales for England to become a servant girl for a Big House; a feisty lady, she lived through both World Wars and was a widow too early. She was trying to make it to age 100 so she could get a letter from the Queen, but sadly missed by a few years.

I made this piece for the UpState Steampunk Convention in 2010, but I decided to keep it for myself.

One of my favorite pieces to go missing was a handmade piece by Jeannine Rodgers of Spiral Studios in Hillsborough, NC.  Unfortunately, she didn’t have a picture of her design either!  It was a thick sterling silver spiral centerpiece with bezel set Peridots attached to a sterling silver ball chain with faceted disc shaped Peridot beads on either side.  Here is an example of her work:

My advice to all of you is take a picture of every piece of jewelry in your house, not just the ones you may create (my main mistake), but your wedding rings, watches, etc.  Also, keep a list if they have any distinguishing marks on them so you can help police identify them if they make their way to a pawn shop (i.e. the diamond ring I passed on from my father to my husband when we got married, had a dent on one side of the stone). Stay safe out there…and have a friend house-sit if you can’t afford an alarm.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in ruminations, vintage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Loss of Jewelry and History

  1. This is just so sad. I feel so bad for you. To lose something like your grandmother’s ring, a piece of family history………….oh, that sentiment cannot be replaced. I have no patience at all for thieves. Sadly, there are more and more out there these days. I do hope you will recover some of your pieces. I know it it a very long shot that you will recover all of them. I wish incredibly bad luck to whoever did this.

    • windbent says:

      Thank you for being empathetic. Actually, I know it could have been worse: they dropped some things so we didn’t lose everything and they didn’t ransack my craft room. Maybe I could start replacing my collection by buying a nice black tourmaline piece from you!

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    So sorry this happened to you 😦 I hope that some of your pieces will find their way back to you.

Leave a Reply

