Under Construction so Brass That!

(or how I woke up one day and loved brass and tried desperately to learn the technology needed to tell you so.)

Excuse the mess as I learn how to use WordPress and add new features to my new word home.  Back to the brass.

When I was young I didn’t like brass items.  Hard to believe, I know, but they tarnished to what I saw as a lifelessly dull patina.  Then, you had to use Brasso (a wonderful and terrifying product all at the same time) to polish them.  They’d be shiny for a while and then you’d have to polish them all over again.  Or, they had a coating on them so they never aged.  Part of me liked this while thinking it was unnatural and boring.

One day in the not too distant past, I realized you could do this:

Not only could you bend and manipulate it, but you could make it brown or black with the use of nifty science stuff I do not understand.  Or, you could use a much more environmentally friendly method with home ingredients and baking to look like this:

Even better you could paint, ink, stain, or wax it any way you want so that no two pieces are ever alike if you don’t want them to be.

The shiny can sometimes seem too shamelessly bold and the antiqued can seem dated; just like us as we move through our life span.

In the end, I finally learned to appreciate the shiny before and the rich, aged after–for they all have a story to tell.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in ruminations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

