Animals Design Challenge

Here are my entries for the B’Sue Boutiques challenge round on animals.  The first is a necklace called Walking the Dog inspired by one of my favorite Pasty Cline songs, of course. Vintage glass mushroom and butterfly cabochons, silver Scottie Dog (from B’Sue) vintage hand painted brass ‘ladybug’ blank, vintage stainless steel chain and lots of Humbrol.  I was in the middle of making this piece when I had to relocate to a different state, so this has really cured!

Entry two is a pair of earrings I named Strawberry Wilde.  These are vintage gunmetal filigree posts with painted stippled heart charms (from B’Sue), antique gold leaves, a vintage brass headpin with Austrian crystal, gunmetal Japanese beetle stamping (from B’Sue) and a crystal drop that’s been upcycled.

For the third entry, I had a hard time deciding which necklace to choose.  I purposely choose to make necklaces since I tend to make more earrings and I wanted to make myself do something different.  I created a underwater pendant that is similar to Walking the Dog, titled Vintage Sea, but because they are similar I thought I’d like my third entry to be different.  I am in the middle of a necklace called Into My Parlor, but I had to wait for a component (from B’Sue) to come in the mail.  I will finish painting it and upload to etsy in a few days.  That leaves me with Easter Egg Hunt, which I know is a little late seasonally, and Swan Lake.  So, I chose Swan Lake…brass swan buckle (from B’Sue), vintage brass double chain, white vintage Austrian beads, and opalescent glass.  This is hand painted, sealed, and waxed.

I had a lot of fun with this and it helped me get back into making jewelry again.  If anyone’s really interested, let me know and I’ll upload Vintage Sea and Easter Egg Hunt as well.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in handmade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

