Fresh Start

After two moves and the endless packing, repacking and unpacking, I can finally make some jewelry.  A big thank you to those who have followed me on Twitter and Facebook even though my business has been mothballed for almost two years while life happened.  An even bigger thank you to Brenda Sue at B’Sue Boutique for her design challenge than got me to actually unpack and inspired me to make new pieces.  The pieces for her third design challenge are done and I will post them shortly.  For more information on the challenge go here and check it out: http://bsueboutiques.typepad.com/bsue_boutiques_jewelry_su/2011/03/five-and-dime-style-round-three-animals-join-the-challenge.html

Meanwhile, I will work on my website and Etsy site to get them back up and running just in case someone actually wants to buy something.  Ha.  Please be patient as I try to remember how to do things and relearn as I start fresh.

All the while, I’m trying to buy a washer and dryer as my pile of dirty clothes vastly outweighs by dwindling supply of clean clothes.  I’m still in the middle of painting my living room ceiling and am currently surrounded by boxes of books.  You’ve heard this before you say…well I stopped everything to make some jewelry.  I thought about it and I realized the pieces I’m most proud of come from when I make them when the idea strikes and I’m in the mood.  Forcing myself to make inventory (like for a fair) never produces anything I truly love.  When I dream about a piece I try to draw it when I wake up.  Not that I’m the best illustrator, but if I can get the initial idea down on paper, I can figure out how to make it, get any components I need and work from there.  Sometimes ideas just come to me when I am looking at a component–I know exactly what I want to do to that particular piece of metal, bead, paint or ephemera.  So, while I’m in a creative mood, everything else (housework) will have to wait.  On that note, another thank you is due to my husband who supports me.  It’s been a long road and my being unemployed has left us with a small struggle, but he is my biggest fan.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in jewelry making. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

