Seasons Blog Hop Reveal: Summertime

When I joined this blog hop, hosted by Lisa Lodge of Pine Ridge Treasures, (gratefulartist.blogspot.com), I had no idea what a design challenge it would be. I had no idea what beads would arrive in the mail; I only knew the goal was to create something based on a season, whether it be a season of year, or a season of one’s life. This is what I received:

Seasons Kit

Now to me, these colors just screamed summer. These beads really took me out of my comfort zone. I was about to go on vacation and see a friend of mine who I met in the 90’s, so I was thinking a lot about “old times” and I remembered that I used to either like chokers, or I liked those long necklaces you can buy at places like Pier One Imports or World Market that are from India or Africa. That’s when I knew I wanted to make something long that I could double up. I started to look at what I had to add to the mix.

What I Added

I think I need a bigger dish.

3

I originally envisioned making a flapper-style necklace approximately 60″ long, and possibly some earrings. The necklace had a different idea.

Here are the earrings:

4

And here is the bracelet I made to match:

bracelet

Once I strung all the beads in the order I was happy with, it ended up being 48″ long. Besides the bead kit Lisa sent me, I added: modern and vintage glass including glass from India and the Czech Republic; vintage Lucite; vintage wood; coral; ceramics; and modern acrylic beads. In addition to my own stash these beads came from six different generous jewelry artists I am fortunate to know.

6

78

Here’s what was left of my bead kit:

9

Please visit these other talented artists:
Lisa Lodge, Grateful ArtistKathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design

Cassi Paslick, Beads: Rolling Downhill
Stephanie Sanner Haussler, PixyBug Designs
Leah Mifflin Tees, My Beady Little Eyes
Karin Slaton, BackStory Beads
Audrey Belanger, Dreams of an Absolution
Lori Jean Poppe, Lorillijean Creative Corner
Karla Morgan, Texas Pepper Jams
Christine Stonefield, Sweet Girl Design
Eleanor Burian-Mohr, The Charmed Life
Alicia Marinache,  All the Pretty Things
Veralynne Malone, Designed by Vera
Kay Thomerson, Kayz Kreationz
Mary Govaars, MLH Jewelry Designs
Lennis Carrier, Windbent
Erin Kenny, Beadifultherapy
Tanya Goodwin, A Work in Progress
Cilla Watkins, Tell Your Girlfriends
Renetha Williams Stanziano, Lamplight Crafts
Christie Searle Murrow, Charis Designs Jewelry
Sierra Barrett, Giraffe Can Has
Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes
Shirley Jones Moore, Beads and Bread
Dawn Horner, Northern Adornments
Charlene Bausinger Jacka, Clay Space
Candida Elkins Castleberry, Spun Sugar Beadworks
Miranda Ackerley, Daze and Days

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Blog Hops, Challenges, design ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Seasons Blog Hop Reveal: Summertime

  1. ZenithJade says:

    Love your pieces! I think they’re lovely!

    <3,
    Andrea

  2. All beautiful pieces Lennis! I really love the pieces you added, you have such a lovely collection. You really made a set to love and enjoy for years to come, just like the friendship that started the design process.

  3. Tanya says:

    The colors do scream summer — they are so fun and alive. I love your pieces. I bet the necklace is a pleasure to wear.

  4. Love the fiery colors! And these pieces can be worn in so many ways all the way through fall.

  5. Beautiful set , Lennis! I thought those colors looked Summery, also. I like how you incorporated beads from so many different people. This is a set that I would enjoy wearing. Thanks for participating in the hop!

  6. Karin says:

    What a fun set of beads Lisa sent, and you’ve created a lively, engaging design. It’s like wrapping yourself in Summer!

  7. Ah, I can almost smell the incense… ;0) Love that necklace. It takes me back in time.

  8. I love the colors and the set you made is absolutely delicious!!

  9. Tara P says:

    Wow – it’s beautiful! I agree – definitely summer!

  10. Kathy Lindemer says:

    I love that great necklace. It is a beauty.

  11. mtrudinger says:

    Gorgeous Lennis! I love the colour combo, very summery.

  12. What a lovely set of jewelry full of sunshine ! Definitively feeling the summer here !

  13. Jen says:

    Nice set! I love all of the different shapes.

  14. Dolores says:

    Gorgeous set, love the colors.

  15. christine says:

    Your set is lovely!! I love the mix of colors!

  16. Kay says:

    Love all the colors. And although you didn’t make it as long as you intended I think it’s great at that length, too. Everything really flows well together. Very pretty.

  17. You did such a wonderful job with the kit Lisa sent you – a lovely summer set indeed :) I like how the necklace ended up (sometimes it’s just best to let them be :) )

  18. Lennis, what a success! The color, the design, the representation all communicate success — , warmth, passion and enthusiasm. Your jewelry design works on so many levels: firstly, your ensemble is gorgeous! Creating an original “boho” style – the 1920’s Boho flapper style — is a beautiful way of celebrating friendship. The necklace inclusive of 6 friends is completely cool, and powerful. Honoring friendship as you met with an old friend is lovely, and I agree that long into autumn, and long into the seasons of your life, your jewelry set will make souls happy.

    I enjoyed looking at your photos close-up — the beads are so beautiful! You are a gifted designer; working with hundreds of beads, you’ve made 45 inches of ingenious design & a very cool friendship bracelet. The balance of shape, color, and pattern is phenomenal, gifted. Likewise, your earrings are beauties, with your special “Windbent” style — I’d know they were yours if I saw them anywhere because the chandelier style is so unique to you: linear, artistic, unexpected yet synchronized.

    Beautiful. Encouraging. Cool.

    Love,
    Rita

  19. I’m an earring girl, but that necklace is nice!

  20. Lennis, I love the jewelry set you made! The colors do seem very summery & could be quite versatile – dressy or casual. The beads are absolutely gorgeous! :)

Leave a Reply

