Blu Mudd Design Challenge Round Two

Moriah Betterly makes some lovely ceramic jewelry components. I actually won a pendant in a giveaway and then was hooked. When I saw the entries for the Round 1 Design Challenge I was really impressed, so when she posted a call for Round 2, I entered.  You can visit Blu Mudd here on Etsy (http://www.etsy.com/shop/BluMudd) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/BluMudd). She sent us each a pendant from this assortment:

Blu Mudd Challenge Pendants

This is the point where I’m honest and say orange is not my favorite color so it should come as no surprise (LOL) I received this one:

Recieved Blu Mudd Pendant

I laughed because I had asked the Universe to learn new skills this year. I was really happy when I realized that orange is a favorite color for a friend of mine who is long over due for an awesome thank you present. Designing for a person in mind really helped me figure out what I wanted to do. My first idea didn’t work; I had some vision I was going to turn this into the body of an angel–I still think it’s a good idea for a blue pendant, but I wanted to use black brass and with the orange it was too “Halloween” for me! That first idea is what lead me to using the blue beads with the orange. I thought aqua, cobalt and orange would be good, but the pendant and the matching Czech glass swirled beads I found to match, already have two shades of orange so I felt that was too many colors. To echo the swirls in the design, I created the copper wire spirals, which are flattened and top-coated, and used them to “frame” the pendant and draw your eyes to it. I think the cobalt draws your eyes up the sides to the rest of the necklace.  This necklace is 24 inches long. I let my husband pick the photo I entered into the design challenge, but here are the other choices so you can compare. My challenge these days is the photography–whether I like it or not, I really am going to have to get lighting and a new camera. Which photo do you like best?

Marble Background

Aqua Background

Official Entry

Either way, if you like my necklace, please go VOTE for it! Here are all the entries: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.612160075462859.1073741853.272858342726369&type=3

Thank you for looking. Please feel free to vote once for as many necklaces as you like by leaving a comment on the individual pictures. Many of these talented ladies are my friends, so please let them know if you like their work.

About windbent

I try to reclaim, reuse and re-love items from our past and make them modern again. I see my jewelry as a fusion of old and new, cross cultural, and spanning time periods. Because I use vintage items within my jewelry, there may be age related signs of love that make them special. Each piece will be unique or made in small batches that are similar, but still different. If I find an item I love and it doesn't want to become jewelry, I give it a new home in another art format.
This entry was posted in Challenges, design ideas, jewelry making and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blu Mudd Design Challenge Round Two

  1. I’ve read this post a couple times, but really enjoyed reading s-l-o-w-l-y today and laughing at the orange arriving from the universe! lol… Maybe it is living in orange county or Florida oranges but I love the color orange! And I love your necklace — it is so cool and unique — one of a kind. Oh, orange you glad you make jewelry? xxoo he he he…

Leave a Reply

